PR Campaigns – The blog

February 27, 2009

Guilty as Charged: Information Addiction

Filed under: Spirals,Uncategorized — kmmorten @ 8:42 pm
Tags: , , ,

After reading Jed Hallam’s blog, Information Addiction, I realized I’m not the only one who wants to get the 411 on everything, everywhere at anytime. I constantly find myself trying to get access to the internet so I can see what’s going on- even if I just checked it 5 minutes ago. Its crazy how technology has made information so easily available to us. And it’s even crazier that we become addicted to getting that information. I rely on the internet as a means of information everyday.

I wake up bright and early every morning, and the first thing I do is fire up my computer. I jump in the shower, and by the time I’m out, my computer is booted up and ready to rock. I double-click that Mozilla Firefox icon and seconds later I’m reading the latest headlines on MSNBC’s Web site. Here, I’m greeted with U.S. News, World News, Breaking News, Weather, Politics, Entertainment, and the list goes on and on. I skim the Web site to find articles that catch my eye and read the ones that seem interesting.

Minutes later, I check my e-mail. That’s followed by checking my Facebook, which is followed by checking my Myspace, which is followed by updating my Twitter, which is followed by checking my bank account. (Don’t ask me why I check my bank account 10 times a day, its not like I have that much money to spend- possibly because I have that reassurance that my money hasn’t gone anywhere and isn’t going anywhere… especially in a matter of an hour.) All this internet access before I even brush my teeth!

Then I’m off to school. As soon as I walk in the classroom, I log on to the server and check my e-mail, Facebook, Myspace, Twitter, Blackboard, etc. This vicious cycle continues throughout the day…probably about 50 times- and that is not an understatement. Even when I don’t have access to a computer, I still manage to find access somehow, someway- a.k.a. my cell phone. This goes on from the second I wake up, until the second I hit they hay.   Even then, I totally disregard that I have to wake up in six hours and have to force myself to go to bed.  (NOTE TO SELF: Nothing is that important on the internet to lose precious sleep over.  Just step back, push the “off” button, and it will be waiting for you in the morning.)

It all comes down to this: when I’m not “plugged in” to information, I feel like I’m not “plugged in” to life. I am addicted. I think I have a serious problem.

6 Comments »

  1. It’s human nature to want to know what’s going on. I’m the same way, but with sports. Did Manny sign yet? If I had a laptop, I would spend the entire day wasting time, watching sports and stupid videos and Youtube.

    I’m not a news-in-the-morning kind of guy. I like cereal, some oj, a red bull and no bad news. Reading about a suicide bomber, blowing up a train in Spain is not the way I want to start my day. I guess reading about Manny going to any other team than the Dodgers would ruin my day too.

    What did we do without our iPhones and Blackberries…we read a paper and caught the afternoon news broadcast. I have to say that I don’t like the direction in how we obtain information. I’m old school and like to read the paper. Sometimes I feel that I’m overdosing on information.

    Comment by maxlawrencehollister — February 28, 2009 @ 4:31 pm | Reply

  2. You are completely right. I feel like that’s how my day goes too. I think our society has evolved into one where people are constantly using social media to stay in touch, get the latest news and gossip, and to let others know what we are up to. You aren’t the only one who feels like they are addicted. I try every once in awhile to pull away from Facebook or Twitter to do homework and go to class, but I definitely know how you feel. I agree with Max in the sense that people are on a need to know all the time basis and if we aren’t in the know, we feel left out. That need to know is filled with the social media and all of our connections. Like anything, it’s OK in moderation.

    Comment by kparma — March 1, 2009 @ 11:59 am | Reply

  3. @maxlawrencehollister Haha that’s funny to see a guy’s perspective. While it is quite the same concept of wanting to get the information, it is can be about anything you desire. For example, I like to know the celeb gossip, so I check Entertainment News to get the latest scoop on all the celebs. For me, a newspaper isn’t practical because I don’t read enough of the information to make it worthwhile. I like to scan a Web site and see what interests me. Some people like a tangible hard copy though, and you can read it 25% faster than on the computer. Whatever floats your boat :o)

    Comment by kmmorten — March 2, 2009 @ 5:32 pm | Reply

  4. I found this blog, and the one linked very interesting and kind of funny. I just went through my site-checking routine and it’s not much different from yours and I know I waste a lot of time each day checking each site for information and updates. I also have Twitter, Facebook and CNN applications on my blackberry so I’m never far from an update or new information. And I still read newspapers and magazines!
    So I think it’s pretty obvious that I’m also an information addict and I know we’re not alone.

    Comment by Christine — March 2, 2009 @ 6:51 pm | Reply

  5. I don’t go quite that far, but I do know what you mean. I think that’s one of the things that makes us PR people, an extension of journalists. We NEED to be in the know, all the time, about everything. It makes us good at our job. I think it’s awesome that your addiction extends to news sites and not just Facebook and Twitter (not to say those aren’t important). So as long as it doesn’t destroy your sleep cycle I wouldn’t worry too much. 🙂

    Comment by mgjersvi — March 2, 2009 @ 9:38 pm | Reply

  6. You guys definitely covered my thoughts on this. The need to know is completely normal and pretty common…in moderation. The only time I find that these outlets become destructive is when you begin to detatch yourself from real face to face interation. I have a friend who would rather chat or text than actually place a phone call. She relies on all of these different portals, email, myspace, facebook, texting, etc. to keep in touch with her friends, that she rarely even attempts to actually spend time with anyone. She admits to no longer watching the news, but logging on to twitter and just browsing conversations. She says it’s like news filter…she only pays attention to the stuff she’s interested in. To each his own, I guess.

    Comment by viancavv — March 2, 2009 @ 10:20 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

