PR Campaigns – The blog

February 17, 2009

Social media in the sports world

Filed under: The Fifth Firm — bryantedleson @ 8:30 pm
Tags: , ,

After first being introduced to Twitter last Thursday, I was unsure how I would respond and adapt to this new form of social media.  Being an active blogger and Facebook user, I was uncertain how useful “tweeting” would be for me and my interests.  As for my interests, I am a loyal sports fan who enjoys knowing the latest updates and breaking news stories as quickly as possible.  

Who wouldn’t, right?

For instance, last Wednesday I missed the men’s US soccer World Cup Qualifier game against Mexico.  Normally, I would be a little upset if I was unable to watch the game but now I can go to the internet to get complete highlights and coverage.  I am now able to even read what other people had to say about the match in their blogs or tweets. 

When I first noticed that my favorite NFL player Ladanian Tomlinson had joined Twitter the other day, it led me to discover a larger effort by Tomlinson’s team, the San Diego Chargers.  The Chargers web site, like many other sports teams now features links to a series of blogs, and podcasts that seem to be updated frequently.  But not everyone has evolved.  

So why wouldn’t a sports organization want to evolve into the social media world?

In a recent post by Micro Persuasion titled, “The Newspaper Reporter of the Future is Here Today,” discusses the importance of social media and how beneficial it can be in building a stronger connection with its audience.  In the article, New York Yankees beat writer Peter Abraham explains how sports media is growing and adapting as well.  Abraham also discusses importance of blogs, Facebook, podcasts and the IPhone.  

It’s clearly evident that social media is expanding at a rapid rate.  Although Abraham has yet to expand into Twitter, Youtube, or Flickr, his social media “footprint” is off to a good start.  I agree with Abraham that this method of social media is redefining local media, since it’s all potentially global.

One thing is surely true, more content creates more opportunities for us to tell our stories.  Even if it’s just through a tweet.

6 Comments »

  1. Okay So I felt the same way about twitter when I first started out. However, it really does have a little something for everyone and you need to find what it is. For you, it is sports and now that I think about it… Twitter could be extremely useful for sports fans. Say you have a black berry, iphone or one of those phones with internet(which I do not)and an important game is going on while youre in class, a meeting, at work or wherever you may be, you could get on twitter and see everyone’s live tweets about the game! Literally, you can follow the game live and get the latest updates. I mean sure you could be on espn or another website to follow the game, but these tweets would be so much more interesting to follow. And I am sure there are people who are paid to tweet live updates of the game so other people who dont have access to the game can follow!
    I am just extremely amazed by this idea! Its fun finding out new ways you can use twitter. It’s not just a facebok status update!

    In response to your question, I think everyone from every industry is moving onto the social media networks. And If they haven’t already, they will eventually. It’s not really an option if you want to keep up. Social media is just another way to reach so many more people. I don’t know why you wouldn’t want to make the shift. Its also like free PR. None of these accounts charge a dime for a membership.

    Comment by elwhite2 — February 21, 2009 @ 4:41 pm | Reply

  2. I think celebrities, sports stars included, have a lot to gain from social media. We all love our celebrities so being able to read their thoughts in blogs, follow their days on Twitter as well as hear about their make-ups and break-ups in magazines. We/I like to feel close to our/my idols. Social media is how I keep up with my real friends so it’s nice to follow celebrities the same way.

    Comment by mgjersvi — February 22, 2009 @ 2:58 pm | Reply

  3. Well first things first. If you are a serious sports fan, you should get a Tivo or a DVR. This way you never miss a game and you can fast forward through commercials and halftime.

    The San Francisco Giants have Joan Ryan write a blog on their website called “Inside the Giants Clubhouse.” (http://sfgiants.mlblogs.com) She is paid by the Giants. Bengie Molina, the Giants catcher, also does a blog called “Behind the Mask.” (http://bengiemolina.mlblogs.com)

    I still have to make clips and copy them to paper, even though they are on their network drive. Baseball I guess hasn’t evolved like the other sports. It’s a different group of people.

    Comment by maxlawrencehollister — February 22, 2009 @ 5:38 pm | Reply

  4. I’m glad to know I wasn’t the only one that seemed to “miss the point” of twitter early on. In fact, until about an hour ago I hadn’t made more than 5 posts. I started following a few things, including ASU Sundevils and Senator McCain. I discontinued my following of McCain, however, because he was blowing up my twitter feed! I am watching the Oscars and I decided to search Oscars. I found so many interesting tweets on the topic. Like you in sports, I do agree that everyone can find something that interests them on twitter. I do agree that more media gives us more opportunities to share, and we all love to share!

    Comment by sekane — February 22, 2009 @ 9:03 pm | Reply

  5. The social media world can be frightening for any sport’s organization who have garnered success without it. From my experience I think more and more organizations are utilizing social media. I used to intern for CBS College Sports Television as a Campus Rep. The entire internship was centered around a pilot program that utilized social media. I had to update game scores, statuses and pictures on an exclusive Web site for ASU’s intramural football games and do marketing promotions for Powerade. It was a cool and different way to interact with students, but most importantly it was an effective way to increase Powerade sales. So I do agree more content creates more opportunities.

    Comment by gbohulan — February 22, 2009 @ 10:23 pm | Reply

  6. Not one of my friends understood the point of Twitter initially, including myself…but it seems that with time finding something useful or interesting jumps out at me, even if I didn’t ask for it. Learning about ‘tweeting’ has flipped my opinions of Twitter in a complete 180. I think utilizing this social media craze is growing more and more beneficial in several ways. As previously mentioned, celebrities and sports stars have such increased opportunity to create a connection with us, and vice versa. I feel like I have just about everything I could ask for at my fingertips…all it takes it a bit of effort and persistent involvement.

    Comment by sbushaw — February 22, 2009 @ 11:08 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

