PR Campaigns – The blog

February 8, 2009

Be Cool, Go to School!

Filed under: Spirals — kmmorten @ 8:05 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Now that my senior year is dwindling down and graduation is just around the corner, I have been asking myself, ‘what’s next?’  In Seth Godin’s blog, What is School for?, he lists all the reasons why people go to school.  Even after four years in college, two of which were in the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication, I still am just as confused as I was when I sat through my first day of class at Arizona State University.  To make matters even more complicated, come May, I’ll have a degree in Public Relations without knowing for sure if this is the career path I want to pursue.

So, really, what is school for?  I thought Godin’s response, “learn for the sake of learning,” pretty much sums it up.  Yes, I have learned a lot in college.  However, am I ever really going to use the information I learned in my Plant Biology or Elvis class?  Probably not.  Do I even remember it?  Not really.  Often times we sit through a class because it is required- not because we actually want to be there learning the material.

I also agree with Godin’s response, “Do well on standardized tests.”  The one thing that I hate about college is that your grade reflects on how well you take a silly test.  I took a class where your whole grade was dependent on one, single exam.  To me, this is unfair to the students who are horrible test-takers.  Likewise, it is great for the good test-takers.  So, after not doing so hot on a few exams, I learned the tips and tricks to do well on a standardized test so it wouldn’t weigh me down.

My three favorite responses about what college is for that Godin wrote were, “minimize public spelling mistakes,” “make sure the sports teams have enough players” and “give kids something to do while parents work.”  I thought these were absolutely hilarious, and I couldn’t help but laugh at the validity of them.

Maybe you have a different reason what school is for.  It seems like a straightforward answer, but it really stimulated me to think of the reasons why I’ve been sitting in a desk for the past four years…and still am right now.  So the next time you are sitting in your early morning class with a Starbucks in your hand and struggling to keep your eyes open through another boring lecture, check out Godin’s blog and it will give you a little spark of clarity why you went to class that day.

3 Comments »

  1. I like this blog, and that is saying a lot because I hate most blogs. With this blog though, it had me at “So, really, what is school for?” I’m the type of person that thinks school, whether it’s high school or college is mostly B.S., and I don’t mean Bachelor of Science.

    It’s like Herman Edwards once said, “You play to win the game”, and he was right. School is a game and you have to play it just right in order to be successful. It’s all about networking and it’s not what you know, but rather who you know.

    I guess everybody takes something different with them from their own college experience. For me, the most college has taught me is to be able to handle an insane amount of responsibility while under intense pressure.

    You’re half right when you said, “However, am I ever really going to use the information I learned…” because I have remembered a lot from some of my classes and have already forgotten a lot too. It all depends on if you wanted learn the material in the first place. You gotta want it.

    Basically, what it all boils down to is when it’s all said and done and we have our degrees, we can say we’re college educated and that is the key that opens doors.

    P.S. My plant biology class is in my top three classes of all-time.

    Comment by maxlawrencehollister — February 9, 2009 @ 5:34 pm | Reply

  2. I think one of the biggest things I will take away from college is an appreciation for hard work. Any job that we get going forward will be from four (or in my case five) years of hard work and anticipation. When I get out of school I will have a better appreciation for any job that I get, and thus will work that much harder. When an employer is looking for someone who is college educated I don’t think it is necessarily because they want someone who can explain to them what the Socratic method is or what the inside of a squid looks like. Employers are looking for someone who had the perseverance and discipline to obtain maturity through a less than structured educational system. Just the fact that we got through college is an accomplishment in itself, regardless of the classes took.

    Comment by kbergeron44 — February 16, 2009 @ 6:54 pm | Reply

  3. Spirals:
    I agree. I think that a college degree shows that we are disciplined enough to sit through four years of college and learn. It shows that we can follow through and be committed in school and ultimately in the work place. I think these are good skills to have for future employers. They want to know that you are disciplined and committed to something. It isn’t necessarily what classes we took in order to obtain the college degree- its more about the accomplishment of obtaining a degree in a skilled area.

    Comment by kmmorten — February 17, 2009 @ 1:25 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

